The Optical Center of Bay Ridge

Howard Schmerz Google Review: December 2013

My family and I have been going to the Optical Center of Bay Ridge for many years and we find Dr. Tin an outstanding addition to the staff.

Yolanda Wu Google Review: December 2013

Dr. Tin did a great job examining my daughter. She was thorough and professional, and she set my daughter at ease. I can't say enough good things about the Optical Center.

Robert Walsh Google Review: December 2013

I have been a patient of Dr.Steven Ganz for almost 25 years. In a day and age where we begin to feel like just a number, it is refreshing to go to a doctor who, despite a busy practice, takes the time to get to know you and really listen. Several years ago, a retinal detachment, muscle displacement and subsequent retinal surgery by a specialist resulted in a need for glasses made with a prism. I knew immediately how lucky I was during this stressful time to have a long-standing relationship with a professional of Dr. Ganz's caliber. I knew I could depend on him to fit me with the appropriate lenses. As always, I was extremely satisfied with the new glasses. All the clinical and support staff assisting at the Center are clearly patient-focused, always courteous and quite competent.

Adrianna Riguardi Google Review: December 2013

I highly recommend The Optical Center of Bay Ridge. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! My eye exam was thorough and the doctor patiently explained everything to help me feel comfortable. They offer a great variety of glasses. I definitely recommend The Optical Center to all of my family and friends.

Irina Meyman Google Review: November 2013

I am very satisfied with the services provided by the staff of the Optical Center of Bay Ridge. They are friendly, professional, caring and funny people. I trusted them with very expensive frame and the job was done perfectly and on time. I will recommend them to all my friends and relatives and use them again.

Deborah Soldo Google Review: November 2013

I would recommend family friends even strangers if they talked to me about their eyes and that they needed glasses or eye exams from Dr.Ganz and his so professional staff.They treat you like they knew you forever as a family member as soon as you walk thru their door.I will trust no one except Dr.Ganz and his staff for the treatment and the kindness that they show,So if you want or need something for your eyes this is where you need to go.Oh and one more thing you will fall in Love with Zipper the doggie.

Jean R. Yelp Review: July 2013

Dr. Ganz is one of the kindest, most knowledgeable, and patient optometrists I've ever been to in 60 years of wearing glasses and contacts and having many eye problems. His whole office staff is helpful and organized. The wait is minimal. They pay attention to what you say. If you are not happy with something, instead of writing it on Yelp, go back and tell them. They will try to address it. I switched to Dr. Ganz when my previous optometrist retired. I wanted an experienced and knowledgeable optometrist, and that's what I got. Their friendly, cute dog Zipper is an added plus.

Also, his office is wheelchair accessible with no steps.

Meredith Towne Google Review: July 2013

I have been seeing Dr. Ganz and the staff at The Optical Center of Bay Ridge for seven years now. On my first visit I discovered we shared a passion for opera and dogs and I thought, what could be better? In addition to being a truly compassionate person, he is also an exceptional practitioner. From making sure I can read my students work to walking me through putting in my contact lenses for the first time, I have always felt in good hands. Dr. Ganz has an exceptional staff that work at the Optical Center who have always been helpful- from insurance to selecting frames. Their convenient Saturday and evening hours as well as the online appointment making tool make getting in a snap. I would not hesitate to recommend anyone go to The Optical Center of Bay Ridge for their eye care needs.

Carolyn Pohore Google Review: July 2013

I'm the type of person that is nervous at any Doctors office. Well.. The Optical Center on 83rd & 5th in Bay Ridge proved my fear a bit silly. I walked in to be greeted by their friendly smiling staff & felt at ease instantly. The gals at reception were so kind and wonderfully informed. They even helped me out regarding a mix up with my insurance, all the while helping me understand why it happened. Tell me who doesn't like feeling as if they are the only one that matters when going to see the Doc? I told them THEY are the backbone of the office & I truly meant it! After filling out a short/simple form that I handed in, I sat down to get right back up again and into the exam room. NO WAIT! The young lady spoke with me, joked with me and checked my eyes all in the same go. Superb! Then there was Dr. Ma. another fine young lady I may add that did the exam. 1 or 2? 3 or 4? When all was done she explained I need a stronger prescription lens, recommended a new more easy going contact for my eyes. Than Dr. Ma told me I have to be careful, why I must be & how I can help take care of my problem now, so that I will have these eyes for the next 50 years (knock on wood). The Doctor even gave me what I can Google to understand my condition better! An excellent experience at the Eye Doctors with some pretty awesome people. Thanks Optical Center! I'll SEE ya soon. Haha hehe ha...

Patricia Sujeski Google Review: June 2013

I have been a patient of Dr. Ganz's for over 15 years, from his old place on 88th st and 5th avenue to his new place, on 8310 5th ave. He is the best of the best, and now my son goes to him also. Dr. Ganz, and his staff are very professional, they all actually know you by name. He takes the time, to find, which contacts will be best for you. He will order trial lenses for you, before you purchase, to make sure it is the right fit for you. If you want a really teriffic, wonderful, professional place to go,I highly recommend, Dr. Ganz, Janet, Serena,, and all the staff, for your eye care needs. I give Dr. Ganz, a 10 ++++. See you soon. You even have a wonderful little dog to entertain you, while there, GO ZIPPER, GO ZIPPER.

Flutterwing (T. Wick) Google Review: June 2013

Wonderful caring staff, Pleasant environment, I received excellent courteous care, I would recommend everyone try The Optical Center of Bay Ridge for all their eyecare needs.

Christopher Del Gaizo Google Review: June 2013

My family and I have been patients of Dr. Ganz for well over 25 years. He has always treated us with kindness, courtesy and professionalism. He is extremely knowledgeable and takes his time while treating you. Dr. Ganz always makes the effort to ask about your family, which makes visits seem more personal. I would, and have continually, recommended Dr. Ganz to friends and colleagues. They too have found him to be an outstanding doctor and person.

Patricia Carbone Google Review: May 2013

Love Dr. Ganz and his staff -- they make getting new contacts super easy, and they are all just so sweet. Their hours are SO convenient also -- I don't have to take a day off of work to get my eyes checked! Late night hours twice a week? Excellent. Really happy I foudn this place.

Sofia M Reyna Google Review: April 2013

Wow !! What a great service :) , felt so happy i came to this place , first of all i knew i had a problem with my vision, but before, i went to the wrong people, they had prescribed me glasses, but i had a feeling they were wrong or they didn't do a good job, so i went to Dr. Ganz's office , the receptionist was so respectful and friendly help me a lot , the other staff member as well , they also have this cute puppy it just makes you feel right at home, Dr. Ganz is amazing very professional and also explains with detail your problems and answer all your questions. I am really happy i came here, and highly recommend this place to everyone !!! You wont regret it !!!

Carol Palombo Google Review: April 2013

I have been a patient of Dr. Ganz for about 6 years and have always been treated with courtesy. The staff, always cheery, goes out of their way to accommodate you. Dr. Ganz has always been happy to answer any questions I might have. They also have a great selection of frames, designer and otherwise, to choose from. I would definitely recommend The Optical Center of Bay Ridge.

Shari Houston Google Review: March 2013

I had an appointment with a competitor on a snowy afternoon. Once I arrived at the place I was turned away ( My insurance didn't work..even after I asked over the phone) I walked around and saw "The Optical Center" I went in and figured I would be sent away. ( was my luck that day) Serena was so nice and very helpful, she could not get me in for that day but made an appointment for the next morning. Dr. Ganz is professional and very funny. The entire office is very pleasant, including Zipper who is the main attraction. I can't wait to return. I highly recommend to any and everyone. They have a great selection of glasses for everyone.

Angela Fagan Google Review: March 2013

I have been a patient of Dr. Ganz for a number of years. My mom, husband, and children are patients as well. There is no one else I would trust with this service. The care and attention I receive are second to none. Dr. Ganz conducts a thorough exam with great professionalism. The staff takes great interest in helping me find just the right pair of frames suitable for me. The selection is simply wonderful! They take the time to make sure they are a good fit by precisely measuring me with the chosen frame. They exhibit enormous patience with my elderly mother who has many vision problems. Their commitment to excellent service is what keeps them at the top of their game! As far as I'm concerned, there are no other opticians I would entrust with our family's eyecare.

Thomas Scaccia Google Review: March 2013

My wife and I have been coming to the Optical Center for several years. The customer service is excellent. Dr Ganz is professional and thorough and takes the time to answer your questions. The staff and welcoming and courteous (not to mention how cute Zipper is). I highly recommend them.

RAYMOND MAGGIO Google Review: February 2013

DR GANZ AND HIS WHOLE ARE PART OF THE BEST OPTICAL CENTERS WILLING TO WORK WITH THE CUSTOMER AND GET THE BEST PRICE FOR THEM..THROUGH A MISTAKE BY ME I ORDERED GLASSES THAT I COULD NOT AFFORD ALTHOUGH IT WAS THREE DAYS LATER THEY WORKED WITH ME GOT ME THE GLASSES I COULD AFFORD AND ISSUED A REFUND TO MY CREDIT CARD. WITHOUT A PROBLEM...THANK YOU TO YOUR WHOLE STAFF

Tara Lee Cernacek Google Review: February 2013

There are many optical places with 2 for 1 deals on glasses, etc but I'd never trust them with my eyes. I have been visiting Dr. Ganz for many years for eye exams, contacts, glasses and the occasional eye problem. He has always been completely thorough, friendly and patient. The staff is always courteous and helpful. They will spend as much time as I need helping me to select my new frames and they inform me what the insurance pays and what options I'm adding are going to cost. No surprise at the end. Well, there was one surprise, the cost of my new glasses was LESS than I expected! It's always a pleasure to see Dr. Ganz & Staff ( and the little dog Zipper). I wish all my doctor's appointments were this easy.

Jennifer Caruana : Google Review: February 2013

After unsuccessfully visiting 3 different optical centers in my neighborhood, as recommended by my insurance Eyemed, walking into the Optical Center of Bay Ridge was a pleasant and refreshing experience. The staff was very warm, welcoming, and accommodating. They spent ample time with me. Although I did not have an eye exam, as I normally see my opthamologist, Dr. Ganz seemed very professional and knowledgeable in the short time I spent speaking with him. The store had a very large selection of frames. And staff was very knowledgeable about all my lens options. Also accepted by discount insurance plan (Eyemed) which was an added plus. After receiving my new glasses, I was satisfied with their worl. Overall an excellent experience and I will definitely be going back for my future eyewear needs. (And to visit Dr. Ganz adorable dog Zipper.
 
Rosemary Cortez Google Review: January 2013
 
Dr. Steven Ganz is professional, thorough, courteous and knowledgeable. He is very attentive to every single detail. He also has a fantastic energy about him. The office is equipped with state of the art equipment. The staff is friendly, warm and also very professional and knowledgeable as well. When you leave his office you will feel confident that you just experienced the most comprehensive examination from Dr. Ganz that cannot be found elsewhere.

Lu-Gina DiMeglio Google Review: January 2013

I adore this place. I've always had great experiences here. This is the one Doctors appointment I never dread. The staff is always so friendly as soon as you walk in. The environment is calm , well lit, great music & adorable decorations. Most importantly this place is always CLEAN ! They have a wide array of eye wear to choose from which they walk you through which frames fit your face structure best... Dr. Steven Ganz is so great. He asks questions, gives answers and takes his time with you. This is not your standard eye doctor with basic machinery. You are going to receive an in-depth eye examination with an explanation of his analysis at the end. I wish all of my doctors were this amazing ! Till then , I know I have my eye doctor down... Always a pleasure, Thank You Optical Center
 
Melissa K. Gentile Google Review: November 2012
 
I was referred to Dr. Ganz by my cousins and so very happy I was. His contact lens examination was extremely thorough and was able to tweak my prescription so that my vision is crisper than it's been in years. The staff is extremely warm and friendly - they are a pleasure to be around. I will definitely recommend Dr. Ganz to all of my friends in the area!

Christina Bruni Google Review: October 2012

I've been seeing Dr. Ganz for 13 years now even though he doesn't take my insurance because I trust him with my eyes. He claims to remember me out of his thousands of patients because I used an image consultant two years ago to help me determine the best type of frame for my face. The person behind the counter at the time was able to find a pair of eyeglasses that met the specifications for my face. The eyeglasses are so attractive that I wear them now almost exclusively. I just went in for an exam to order contact lenses again. The prices are better than a lot of other optometry centers too. No flashing neon sign out front either because they don't use gimmicks here. True professionals. This is definitely worth the trip even if you have to take the subway or bus.

Stephanie Rittenhouse Google Review: September 2012

I started seeing Dr. Ganz last year after my former eye doctor closed his practice. After seeing the same eye doctor for over 25 years, I wasn't sure what to expect. But Dr. Ganz had come highly recommended so I knew I was in good hands. The office staff is friendly and professional and always make visiting a pleasure. I have never had to wait longer than a few minutes and Dr. Ganz's exams are quick, yet quite thorough. Zipper adds a nice touch to the office! Highly recommend.

Adriana Melendez Google Review: September 2012

I seldom write reviews, but everyone was so friendly, efficient and helpful, I felt it needed to be said. It was my first time visiting The Optical Center in Bay Ridge this week. They were able to make a same day appointment and took care of me quickly. I needed the appointment right away as my vision benefit is about to be discontinued through my job. My glasses were ready in less than a week and the doctor saw me on the spot when went to pick them up for a contact lens fitting. He gave me a thorough eye exam and he gave me an exact contact lens prescription. Most eye doctors failed to do so in the past because they felt my astigmatism was too minor to be bothered with. The result: headaches and tired eyes. I see better now than I have in years. I highly recommend them Dr. Ganz and his team. And Zipper, he's the office mascot. You'll fall in love once you meet him. Guaranteed to put a smile on your face.

Lauren Spinelli : Google Review : September 2012

First time there and this is now my go to place. Had an appointment the day I needed it, in-out-done, with a free strip of my contacts. Win.

Ap Lamm : Google Review : September 2012

The Optical Center of Bay Ridge has my highest praise. I have not been able to wear contact lenses for 7 years as the lenses were irritating my eyes. I went to at least 5 different ophthalmologist and while they were happy to take my money, they did not get me lenses that worked for me. Dr Ganz worked with me for months to ensure that my contact lenses work for me and that they were comfortable. The staff was patient and tried to accommodate my schedule. Now, I am wearing my contact lenses pain free. I also got glasses for me and my daughter because this place actually cares about the patient.

 

August 23rd, 2012

I first came across the Optical Center of Bay Ridge when I was approaching them for a business opportunity.  They could not have been warmer, funnier or more welcoming even though they weren't interested in partnering with my former company and at the time, they did not take my insurance (they do now).

That was a year ago.  Now we have new insurance which they accept (they accept everything but Health Plus and United Community Health Plans).  I was thrilled when I called my insurance and was told Dr. Ganz was on my list of providers.  I called to make an appointment.  That process was as pleasant as they come, the front desk staff are on the ball, kind and thorough.  They are patient and thorough when answering questions and took my weird scheduling needs into account without an ounce of irritation or attitude (the review below sounds like the OPPOSITE of everything I experienced at BROC).

I cannot say enough about Dr. Ganz.  He is professional, clearly takes his job very seriously and takes his time to ensure your exam is completed with the utmost care and concern for both your eye health and your lifestyle.  This was apparent when we were discussing contacts and glasses.  I have extremely dry eyes and he was kind enough to order me a free bunch of samples they didn't have of a special kind of contacts to try for free and he gently suggested I need to wear my glasses more to give my eyes a break.  I'd had horrible experiences prior with exams where I was told "You shouldn't be wearing contacts.  Period."  Dr. Ganz took his time with me, answered my long winded (can you tell?!) questions with eloquence and humor.  I felt very at ease with him.

When choosing my glasses I proceeded to pester the entire team at BROC and they could not have been more accommodating in helping me choose.  No one ever pressured me, in fact, they kept selecting the lower priced glasses vs. the Marc Jacobs I eventually wound up selecting.  Speaking of which, the styles and selection is fantastic and the staff truly go out of their way to take into account your facial features and how the glasses can enhance and accentuate your face (as a make-up artist, I really appreciated that).

All in all, in 30 years of wearing glasses this was BY FAR the most positive, thoroughly enjoyable and even FUN (?? at the optometrist?!?) experience I've had getting my yearly exam.  I've never said this before in any of my reviews, but 5 stars is not enough to rate BROC.  They are a step above every other eye care provider in Bay Ridge and I would venture to say, Brooklyn overall as I've visited eye care providers all over the borough.  They are top notch, class acts with a healthy dose of humor that I genuinely enjoyed.

**As I was leaving, I did see them take a walk-in patient, I'm sure appointments are preferred, but I've never seen an eye care provider take a walk in before, thought that was noteworthy.

-Heather M.

 

Wonderful staff..efficient and kind. Imagine staff that actually seem to enjoy their jobs! Such a treat. Cool frames as well.
-Andrea Z.

This place is great!!  All the staff are friendly and upbeat (including Zippers who would run up to everyone as they walked in), they never make you feel rushed or make you feel like you're wasting their time.  Dr. Ganz was wonderful -- he was very personable and not stiff like some other doctors tend to be.  There were people stopping in for basic things (like scratched lenses, pick out frames, etc.) and both the doctor AND staff treated each person like an old friend, not just a customer.  That I thought was really nice.  And, of course, the actual eye care is amazing.  I don't know if it's just this place, or because I haven't had my eyes checked in 3 years, but the technology he uses is amazing.  No more puff of air to the eyeball to check for glaucoma!!  I think I was more impressed with that than anything else.
-Lindsey S.

 A Google User

Everyone is so nice and helpful here. I had not been to an eye doctor in a long time, and this place set the bar so high. They gladly stayed past closing to help me find 2 pairs of glasses that I needed and they were able to explain everything extremely well. They now have a customer for life and I am recommending them to anyone I know who needs a pair of glasses.
 
 This was my first visit to the Optical Center and I'm very pleased. The wait was short and my examination was quick yet thorough. I will definitely be coming back!
-
Katherine Heggland

 

 

Google Review:

Went here with my mother who needed glasses for the first time. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Staff and doctors made the process easy and knew a great deal about paperwork she needed to fill out for coverage. Was a great experience overall. Very pleased.
-
Elizabeth Moreira
 

A Google User

Everyone is so nice and helpful here. I had not been to an eye doctor in a long time, and this place set the bar so high. They gladly stayed past closing to help me find 2 pairs of glasses that I needed and they were able to explain everything extremely well. They now have a customer for life and I am recommending them to anyone I know who needs a pair of glasses.

A Google User

I was referred to Dr Ganz by Dr. Pass for contacts. My daughter Caitlin saw Dr. Ganz first and was thrilled with the office and Dr. Ganz. She came home and said Dr Ganz is my new best friend. The contacts prescription and fit were perfect the first time. I then went to see Dr. Ganz for new lenses for my glasses noticed the office is simply professionally run yet those working had good humor, making you feel so comfortable. I was so happy with my visit I returned to try a go at contacts again. Same result as my daughter great prescription and fit. I wear them daily now.

-Chet Macey

 A Google User

I have been going to Dr. Ganz for 16 years now...I travel all the way from West Hempstead, NY to see him. He is very professional knows exactly what to prescribe and his staff members are very caring. Dr. Ganz had realized when I first went to him that the other doctor had given me strong prescription; when he gave me the correct presciption I felt much better and I didn't have headaches. I would never change Dr. Ganz for any other eye doctor, you know when someone knows their work and when someone doesn't. My parents have been going to him ever since. I recommend The Optical Center to everyone I know.

 A Google User 

I came in from Long Beach NY in order to go see Dr. Ganz and his staff in order to buy my glasses. I saw Dr. Ganz for an eye exam even though I had a prescription from my Dr. Dr Ganz discovered that my prescription was wrong. I then went out to see Audrey so that we could discuss my various options. Audrey recommended progressive lenses in lieu of my usual bi focals I am so glad that she did they are amazing. I no longer have to take my glasses off to read or pick my head all the way up to see the computer. Dr Ganz and his staff are all professional efficient and friendly as well as knowledgeable. I would recommend The Optical Center of Bay Ridge to everyone

A Google User

I have been going to Dr. Ganz for about 25 years now. He is by far my most favorite and trusted doctor. Dr. Ganz is extremely professional, always answering any questions I have regarding my eyes. Most people usually dread going to any doctor but I do have to say I look forward to every appointment that I schedule. Also I wanted to mention the rest of the Optical Center team. Everyone is very nice and always take their time in finding the best fit for me when it comes to a new frame. They are never pushy and always give their honest opinion. Even recently upon my recommendation, my wife has started to go to the Optical Center as well. She really enjoyed her experience. I would recommend the Optical Center to anyone living in N.Y.C , even if you have to take a long subway ride to get to Bay Ridge, the Optical Center is well worth the trip.

A Google User

Today was the first time I've been to an eye doctor, and I was extremely pleased! Dr. Ganz was very professional and thorough with the eye exam. He was very kind and made me feel comfortable, the same goes for the staff. They were extremely welcoming and willing to help. Thanks to Lisa I was able to find the perfect pair of glasses, I'm a picky person but she was patient throughout the entire process and gave me honest feedback. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, I'm sure they would walk out of there as confident with their results and as happy with the service as I was.

A Google User
 
I've been going to Dr. Ganz since I was about 6 years old. I'm now 33 and live in a different borough but still make the trip to see my favorite eye doctor. He's always been professional, knowledgeable, nice, and funny! My whole family now sees him and I've even referred some co-workers who are all very happy. The office staff are all extremely helpful and nice as well. I would strongly recommend Dr. Ganz and The Optical Center to anyone, you'll never need another eye doctor.

 A Google User

Absolutely the best! Always so accommodating and friendly both Dr.G and the staff :) I drive all the way from Hoboken to get my eye exams here now because of the great customer service. Highly recommended!

A Google User                                                                                              

My experience with Dr. Ganz and team was the best I have ever had in all my years visiting Optometrists (since early childhood!). I visited this past Saturday with my 10 year old daughter...we both needed eye exams and prescription upgrades. I have been having trouble with my eyes (now need progressives) and was unsure about my insurance. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly while obtaining all of my insurance info. Dr. Ganz himself was wonderful. After a thorough exam, he took time to make sure I understood my recent sight trouble and need for Progressives. The Optician, Audrey (Dr. Ganz's wife) is amazing. She calmed my fears of progressives by patiently and kindly explaining the transition process. Audrey went so far as to provide me with progressives and walk up and down the stairs with me so I would know what to expect!!! Lovely, professional woman. My daughter also had a great experience. She turned to me at the end of our visit and said,"Mom, I want Dr. Ganz every time we need new glasses". The amount of time and care they took with us was unreal. Plus, it was not like the place was quiet. It was hopping with business, but is run so efficiently that all patients were taken care of and happy. Zippers the dog is the cherry on top of this great establishment! :) This is the only place to go!

A Google User 

I cannot say enough nice things about my experience with this establishment. The staff are courteous and friendly, yet very professional. The optometrist is one of the best in the business. When I told him I could not see, he made sure I had my glasses in 1 day. Day, not week. I highly recommend this place and this doctor!!!!!! In addition, the glasses are perfect! I can finally see without struggling to do so. If you find yourself in need of assistance to be able to see or simply want your eyes examined, Dr. Ganz is the man for the job!!!!!!

 A Google User

courteous , professional, competent are words that can be used to describe Dr Ganz and his love;y wife Audrey. You can also add caring . bright and very often funny. It is never a hard sell It is always about what is going to improve your eyesight and yes make you look better. I have been wearing glasses for 40 years and I must say that you are crazy if you use any other optical center. No matter what your age or your optical needs this is the place to go!

A Google User

We've been going to Dr. Ganz for atleast 15 years. I can't say enough about Dr. Ganz's courteous professionalism and that includes his staff. He's been around a long time and his store is impeccable in appearance and choice of glasses etc and prices. I would recommend him to anyone.I first met Dr. Steven Ganz when he had his practice on Fourth Avenue in the mid-80s. From the day I met him he took the best care of me. I had a scratched cornea and he provided excellent care. From that first meeting, I knew I could never see another eye doctor. Now, some 15 years later I am still a patient along with my husband and son. I have also referred close friends who have been patients for just as long. His new office is conveniently located on Fifth Avenue and there is plenty of available parking. The new office location and staff make you feel right at home. The staff is especially warm and welcoming and responsive. But one of my most favorite encounters at the Optical Center of Bay Ridge, is when I have the opportunity to see "Zipper", which is his cute little dog! The Optical Center of Bay Ridge provides the best care and follow up to all patients. Dr. Ganz has a reputable network of eye specialists which he can refer you to based on your personal sitaution. Just recently, I experienced an issue with one of my eyes and he immediately put me in touch with another eye specialist who treated me immediately. That goes a long way! Go SEE him!

-Laurie

I've been going to Dr.Ganz for about 10 years now, and there is nothing i can ever say that went wrong.He is an amazing doctor and a great friend.Its true when i wrote the Yankee article in the Daily News, I should of added a little comment recommending anybody who needs an eye doctor to go to The Optical Center.Everyone there is great! And i don't plan to ever stop going there.I appreciate everything you've done for me there.Thanks Dr.Ganz

-Hamza

Over the past 3 years I have been going to Dr Ganz and every time has been a pleasure. The staff very helpful & efficient, Dr Ganz answers any and all questions you may have, regarding your examination. When you go to pick out your glasses, the staff (Ricky and Audrey) take the time to do it right. In my case I tried on several frames it took over an hour to decide on just the right frames, I was not rushed even though I had been there past their closing time. This Optical Center is the best I have been to, in my 20+ years having to ware glasses and I live in New London, CT and I feel the drive is well worth the care, hindness and attention I receive, after all we only have one pair of eyes and they have to last us a lifetime, so why not have the best look at them. Before I forget this year there is an addition to their staff and family it is a cute 5lb Black Poodle named Zipper, he will calm your nerves and put a smile on your face.   

-J. Andrews

 I have been a patient of Dr. Ganz for about ten years. I can only say nice things about him and his entire staff--they are accommodating, extremely knowledgeable, and friendly. They take the time to sit with you and make sure you have the best possible fit with your eyewear. The new location - like the people who work there - are cheery and welcoming. Dr. Ganz and the Optical Center staff are passionate about what they do and I can honestly say I've never had a bad experience there. The Optical Center makes sure you never have the stress about your eyewear or your eyecare.

-R.V.

Just dropping a line to THANKS for your prompt service on my recent visit which i regularly repeat every year at your office for my vision check and making new glasses when i need new ones. Happy Holidays!

Your (patient) patient,

-J.K.

I have been using the Optical Center of Bay Ridge for many years. Dr. Steven Ganz is one of the most concerned professionals I have ever met. Dr. Ganz treats every one of his patients with great respect. He always takes the time to listen to his patients' concerns. His genuine approach makes the atmosphere at The Optical Center very welcoming. The staff are all friendly and courteous too. It has been and continues to be a pleasure to deal with such a wonderful establishment as The Optical Center of Bay Ridge. I would highly recommend The Optical Center to anyone who is searching for a reputable place for eye care.

-L.A.

I have been a patient of Dr. Ganz for 29 years. Where does the time go? I started with my first pair of glasses and then contacts. I remember many visits trying to get a good fit for my contacts cause my eyes didn't make enough tears. Dr. Ganz was great and we kept trying until we got a pair of contact that were perfect for me. Now my husband and three children are also patients of Dr. Ganz. We always feel so comfortable going to his office and his staff is just as friendly as he is. Thank you for many years of great eye care.

-Sue R.

This was my first visit to the Optical Center of Bay Ridge and I had a truly wonderful experience. From the beginning I was greeted with a bright smile, even though it was late in the day. Dr. Ganz and Audrey made sure that I was well cared for, and while I was waiting for my appointment, Audrey delved in to fit me with glasses. I got the feeling that she loves to dress faces the way an interior decorator loves to dress up living rooms. She and I found a pair that fit my personality, face, and eyes perfectly. Dr. Ganz was equally gentle, conversational and friendly during the examination. The Optical Center knows their stuff and while I thought I’d never say this, I look forward to my next visit to the eye doctor!

Thank you!

-BT

My experience with the Optical Center has been very, very kind to me. Access A Ride was to pick me up at 230 PM. They never showed up. The staff at The Optical Center had me use their phone to call Access A Ride. They said they would pick me up in 10 minutes. I'm again waiting for them.

However, there are no words to express how kind all the staff at The Optical Center cared for me.

-H.T.

Dear Dr. Ganz,

I wanted to take a moment to say thank you for the wonderful care your staff has given me. I have been wearing glasses for over thirty years and for the last twenty I have trusted my vision to The Optical Center. As you are aware my case is a very difficult one. In order to see correctly I must wear progressive lenses and the proper fit is extremely important. On so many occasions you and your staff have spent hours with me to ensure that I was able to see my best. I would never hesitate to recommend The Optical Center to any individual who cares about their sight enough to want to be seen by the most professional eye care staff in the tri-state area.

-J.S.

My husband and I have been going to The Optical Center for the past five years. I have found that they have a large selection of frames and most importantly they use the highest quality of lenses available. I know this because I have done some research on different types of lenses that can be utilized in the construction of eye glasses. I would recommend The Optical Center to anyone who needs glasses with the assurance that no one else offers a higher quality of service and care.

Thank you.

-C.D.

Dear Audrey,

I just wanted to write a quick note to say thanks. My daughter, Jillian, is 10 years old and it was a shock to me when her school informed me that she may need to wear corrective lenses. It seems as though she was having a difficult time seeing the blackboard. A close friend of the family recommended I come in to see you. Of course, my daughter was reluctant out of fear of what her friends would say about her if she had to wear glasses. Thanks to you, Dr. Ganz and the staff at the Optical Center, you made her experience a pleasurable one. You patiently laid out a number of children’s lenses making the task of trying on each of them a fun one for her. Jillian now wears her glasses everyday in school and her scholastic performance has increased significantly. I truly believe that your professional attitude coupled with a sensitivity to your patient’s needs is a credit to The Optical Center.

Thanks again,

A&J

Hi,

I had a great time with the staff at The Optical Center. The lady was very kind and patient. She showed me all sorts of tinted lenses and frames. Wow, there was so much to choose from!! This is the first time I am getting glasses. Thank you very much for helping me enjoy the experience. Can't wait to get my glasses.

-Sean

Previously, I had been a patient of Dr. Pagano for a number of years; to be precise, since the 8th grade I was a patient of Dr. Harry May who eventually retired and was replaced by Dr. Pagano. When Dr. Pagano left his practice in Brooklyn, I began utilizing the services of Dr. Steven Ganz and I have found Dr. Ganz to be extremely professional, courteous and efficient in testing my vision and examining my eyes for any possible problems.

Dr. Ganz’s commitment to his patients is evidenced by his office accommodating the work-schedule of his patients by having evening hours three days a week as well as hours on Saturday.

In addition, his office has a large selection of frames from high to low range with a courteous and pleasant staff assisting you in your selection and striving to ensure that the frames you select are flattering to your face.

I highly recommend the services of Dr. Steven Ganz.

-B.C.

Dr. Ganz and the entire staff at the Optical Center of Bay Ridge are extremely professional, polite, and friendly. The location and business hours are very convenient. It is a pleasure visiting the office.

-J.K.

I have been going to Dr.Ganz for over 5 years now and the service has always been wonderful! The staff is helpful in person and times I needed something answered over the phone they were just as helpful. I just got a new pair of frames over the weekend and can not wait to wear them! Dr.Ganz was so helpful in picking out what was best for me and my wallet :-) My family and close friends go to Dr.Ganz as well and they could not be more satisfied. Thank you for always being so great and making a visit to the doctor a good one. Zipper is the cutest thing I have ever seen! Everyone should meet him - brightens your day

 

Dr. Ganz and the staff made going to the eye doctor as easy as possible. Between Dr. Ganz' warm, friendly, professional examination and the store's impressive selection of frames, there's no reason to go anywhere else. They even spent as much time as I needed to help me choose the right frames. I can't wait for them to arrive. Make sure to meet Zipper the maltipoo when you get there!

-Mike

My children visited the office of Dr. Ganz yesterday for their yearly eye checkup. As usual, the service was fantastic. Dr. Ganz was courteous, professional, and very welcoming. His staff was also terrific. My children felt comfortable the whole time we were there. We have been patients for years, and have no intention of going anywhere else.

-Peggy Lambrinoudis

My family has been going to Dr. Ganz for many years and we have never had a problem. Dr. Ganz and his staff are always very helpful, friendly and professional. A couple of months ago I had an eye irritation and walked into the office without an appointment. Dr. Ganz gave me his undivided attention and care, just like he's done for the many years I have been his patient. Highly recommended.

-D.K.O.S.

I would like to thank The Optical Center and their wonderful staff for the excellent service and product. I am new to Brooklyn and needed new glasses. Not only did Dr Ganz and the staff at The Optical Center made me feel right at home and helped me pick out the right frame and lenses for my new glasses but stayed late to do so. I was the last appointment of the day and it had started to snow very hard when I entered the center. Dr Ganz stayed behind and continued to provide me with the service I required. A week later I had a new, perfect pair of glasses at a very affordable price. Thank you!                                                                                                             

-D. Smith

I have been going to the optical center and Dr. Gantz since I was a little boy. This place has the best service, best selection, and the friendliest staff in the area. They go above and beyond what is necessary of eye care professionals and my entire family including my girlfriend go there. The Optical Center is A+.

-J.D.

Over the past 3 years I have been going to Dr Ganz and every time has been a pleasure. The staff very helpful & efficient, Dr Ganz answers any and all questions you may have, regarding your examination. When you go to pick out your glasses, the staff  takes the time to do it right. In my case I tried on several frames it took over an hour to decide on just the right frames, I was not rushed even though I had been there past their closing time. This Optical Center is the best I have been to, in my 20+ years having to ware glasses and I live in New London, CT and I feel the drive is well worth the care, kindness and attention I receive. After all we only have one pair of eyes and they have to last us a lifetime, so why not have the best look at them. Before I forget this year there is an addition to their staff and family it is a cute 5lb Black Poodle named Zipper, he will calm your nerves and put a smile on your face.

From the pleasant conversation on the phone to make my appointment to the moment I left having just ordered some glasses that I'm VERY excited about, I had the best night with Dr. Ganz and his wife, Audrey, and the rest of their staff that seemed like one big extended family. All my questions and concerns were answered with thoughtful consideration, and Audrey sat with me for at least an hour, picking out the glasses that would suit me best. I couldn't have been happier with my visit. If you live in Bay Ridge and you need an eye doctor, you'd be just silly to go anywhere else.

I've been a patient of Dr. Ganz for approx. 10yrs. His professionalism and expertise is surpassed by none. He takes the time needed to insure his patients are completely satisfied. He is supported by a staff of professionals that make sure your choice of glasses are right for you and that they fitted properly to insure your complete satisfaction and comfort, no matter how long it takes

-Terry

Google Review : Optical Place: Excellent Service - Laurie - May 10, 2009
I have been going to the Optical Center for almost 5 years and would never think of going anywhere else! Dr. Ganz is very detail oriented and I have been going to the Optical Center for almost 5 years and would never think of going anywhere else! Dr. Ganz is very detail oriented and attentive to his patients. As soon as you walk into the office you feel welcomed and a part of their family. The staff is very helpful too - they are always finding ways to make sure your optical experience is seamless. They have a wide variety of eyeglass selection to chose from - traditional, modern or chic. Whatever fits your functional needs or personality - they have it. You will see a wide variety of patients there from 8 years old to 88 years old! In this economy, any $ you spend is well thought out. Well, here they work with you and any cost is clear cut and not hidden. They really work with you to satisfy your needs - you won't leave disappointed or unsure. The Optical Center is a trusted neighborhood partner - hard to find, but if you are looking for a full service place to look after your optical needs...this is the place!!!

Google Review : 5 Star Review - aaguinagas - May 13, 2009
I was referred to the Optical Center over 5 years ago from a wonderful doctor who took care of my eyes for many years, but who moved far way. I was referred to the Optical Center over 5 years ago from a wonderful doctor who took care of my eyes for many years, but who moved far way from where I lived. I could not have gone to a better place. Dr. Ganz and his staff make your visit pleasant and effortless. He is very caring and understanding to your needs. His staff is equally attentive and welcoming. This is definitely a family place. You get to know them and they get to know you. As well as the service the merchandise that is available is both modern and affordable. I can attest to buying many frames from The Optical Center and getting very nice compliments. I will definitely be part of this neighborhood family for a long time to come. If your eyes are in need I recommend the Optical Center of Bay Ridge.


Google Review : OPTICAL CENTER-BAY RIDGE- joranda - May 14, 2009
II have been a patient of Dr. Ganz for over 20 years. He is an excellent eye doctor, and has always recommended the best contact lenses for me to continue wearing such as gas permeable lenses, rather than soft lenses, and has an excellent variety of fashionable glasses with affordable frames & lenses. I will continue to value his opinion and services in the future. My parents are also his patients as well, and agree "He is an excellent eye doctor", and very satisfied with his services

Google Review : Excellent Optical Center - ymendez - May 13, 2009
My family and I are patients of Dr. Ganz for nearly 10 years now. He is excellent! I highly recommend him to anyone. Dr. Ganz always takes the time.


My family and I are patients of Dr. Ganz for nearly 10 years now. He is excellent! I highly recommend him to anyone. Dr. Ganz always takes the time to perform a thorough eye examination, his office is clean, the staff is professional and courteous, and he offers a wide variety of trendy, fashionable glasses. Superb!!!


Google Review : Best Opthamologist - jmend1030 - May 13, 2009
I have been a patient of Dr. Ganz for 10 years now. Dr. Ganz is an intelligent and caring doctor who provides excellent service. I highly recommend him.

I have been a patient of Dr. Ganz for about ten years. I can only say nice things about him and his entire staff--they are accommodating, extremely knowledgeable, and friendly. They take the time to sit with you and make sure you have the best possible fit with your eyewear. The new location - like the people who work there - are cheery and welcoming. Dr. Ganz and the Optical Center staff are passionate about what they do and I can honestly say I've never had a bad experience there. The Optical Center makes sure you never have to stress about your eye-care or eye wear.

-Rita V

I have been using the Optical Center of Bay Ridge for many years. Dr. Steven Ganz is one of the most concerned professionals I have ever met. Dr. Ganz treats every one of his patients with great respect. He always takes the time to listen to his patients' concerns. His genuine approach makes the atmosphere at The Optical Center very welcoming. The staff are all friendly and courteous too. It has been and continues to be a pleasure to deal with such a wonderful establishment as The Optical Center of Bay Ridge. I would highly recommend The Optical Center to anyone who is searching for a reputable place for eye care.

-Loreta Andersen

To Dr. Steve and Mrs. Audrey Ganz, Staff and Zipper, I, Ellen and my family, mom, Emily and sister, Patty wish to thank you both for your kindness to us and special individual treatment we received for our glasses. Your time, patience and expert advice was both professional and truly caring at the same time. That's unique! Thank you.To Janet,Serena,Lisa,Kristen,Ricky and Kin, your helpfulness and warmth made for a very pleasant experience. Thank you. Zipper, two paws up. Ruff! Ruff! Thanks again.                                                                                                     

-The O'Dell Family

Dr. Steven Ganz and his staff at The Optical Center of Bay Ridge are a welcoming establishment. As soon as you enter their store, you will be greeted by a professional and knowledgable staff. The Optical Center is a modern and comfortable place for eye exams and selecting frames.The staff will frist determine the type of frame you want and will also offer suggestions. One of the staff members will show you plenty of frames to sample. Dr. Ganz has a wide selection of frames of all types for children and adults and has the lastest innovations in frame wear. Take all the time you need before making your decision as the staff is friendly and patient.I have been a client for several years and have nothing but high praise for Dr. Ganz and the staff and the manner in which he conduct his business.

-Sylvia R.

Google Review : Aug 31, 2010
courteous , professional, competent are words that can be used to describe Dr Ganz and his love;y wife Audrey. You can also add caring . bright and very often funny. It is never a hard sell It is always about what is going to improve your eyesight and yes make you look better. I have been wearing glasses for 40 years and I must say that you are crazy if you use any other optical center. No matter what your age or your optical needs this is the place to go!                 

-R. Stephen

Google Review : Aug 3, 2010
We've been going to Dr. Ganz for atleast 15 years. I can't say enough about Dr. Ganz's courteous professionalism and that includes his staff. He's been around a long time and his store is impeccable in appearance and choice of glasses etc and prices. I would recommend him to anyone.

-Grace R.

Google Review : May 10, 2009
Optical Place: Excellent Service I have been going to the Optical Center for almost 5 years and would never think of going anywhere else! Dr. Ganz is very detail oriented and attentive to his patients. As soon as you walk into the office you feel welcomed and a part of their family. The staff is very helpful too - they are always finding ways to make sure your optical experience is seamless. They have a wide variety of eyeglass selection to chose from - traditional, modern or chic. Whatever fits your functional needs or personality - they have it. You will see a wide variety of patients there from 8 years old to 88 years old! In this economy, any $ you spend is well thought out. Well, here they work with you and any cost is clear cut and not hidden. They really work with you to satisfy your needs - you won't leave disappointed or unsure. The Optical Center is a trusted neighborhood partner - hard to find, but if you are looking for a full service place to look after your optical needs...this is the place!!!

Google Review : May 13, 2009
Excellent Optical Center My family and I are patients of Dr. Ganz for nearly 10 years now. He is excellent! I highly recommend him to anyone. Dr. Ganz always takes the time to perform a thorough eye examination, his office is clean, the staff is professional and courteous, and he offers a wide variety of trendy, fashionable glasses. Superb!!!

Google Review : May 13, 2009
5 Star Review I was referred to the Optical Center over 5 years ago from a wonderful doctor who took care of my eyes for many years, but who moved far way from where I lived. I could not have gone to a better place. Dr. Ganz and his staff make your visit pleasant and effortless. He is very caring and understanding to your needs. His staff is equally attentive and welcoming. This is definitely a family place. You get to know them and they get to know you. As well as the service the merchandise that is available is both modern and affordable. I can attest to buying many frames from The Optical Center and getting very nice compliments. I will definitely be part of this neighborhood family for a long time to come. If your eyes are in need I recommend the Optical Center of Bay Ridge.

Google Review : May 14, 2009
OPTICAL CENTER-BAY RIDGE I have been a patient of Dr. Ganz for over 20 years. He is an excellent eye doctor, and has always recommended the best contact lenses for me to continue wearing such as gas permeable lenses, rather than soft lenses, and has an excellent variety of fashionable glasses with affordable frames & lenses. I will continue to value his opinion and services in the future. My parents are also his patients as well, and agree "He is an excellent eye doctor", and very satisfied with his services.

Google Review : Sep 29, 2009
Best place in town! I was a customer of Cohen's Optical. My friend Serena (who works for Dr. Ganz) suggested that I try Dr. Ganz at the Optical Center. One of the best Health Care decisions I've ever made. I can't believe how great the service is. Dr. Ganz and his staff really care about the patient and are not just looking to sell you expensive eyeglasses or contact lenses that you don't need. Dr. Ganz gives you a thorough eye exam and changed my prescription. I see better than ever have. At Cohen's, there is no customer or personal service - they need to find your file to find out who you; at the Optical Center, they know who you are when you walk through the door and are there to help you any way they can. I will never go back to a large chain again!

Google Review : Feb 5, 2010
exceptional service!!!!! Dr. Ganz of The Optical Center of BayRidge is exceptional in his expertise in his profession!! Anyone can come to him with complete confidence that you will get the best in diagnostic testing for your glasses and eyesight for that matter!! I have been to other opticians who did not seem to get the proper diopter in their examinations and consequently my eyes hurt in reading. With Dr. Ganz, this has never happened!! That is why I always come back to him and will continue to always come back to get my glasses fitted! I cannot recommend his services more highly!! (Dr. Ganz also detected an irregularity in my right eye and recommended that I go to an eye surgeon which I did and which required 2 surgeries.)

Google Review : Feb 6, 2010
Dr. Ganz is wonderful and very caring My parents and I had an appointment on Thursday afternoon for our annual checkup. I am absolutely petrified of eye drops and anything having to do with my eyes. However, Dr. Ganz made sure he got the job done, and was able to get the eye drops in one of my eyes. When he saw I was very nervous, he told me to relax and made sure that I was not going to faint. He is very sympathetic and caring. Also, when I told him I had a problem with my eyes, he told me to go to a medical doctor because it was more related to medical reasons. He helped me get to the root of my problem and go see someone that would actually help me. I now have to go through some testings because I could be experiencing slight migraines that could get worse. Thank you Dr. Ganz, and the whole Optical Center team!

Google Review : Feb 11, 2010
Very Professional but with Personal service! My family & I have been going to the Optical Center for many years. Dr. Ganz has always been very professional & knowledgealbe - but at the same time giving personal service to his patients. He always listens to our concerns and deals with me and my daughters in a gentle and concerned way. The office staff is also wonderful. They are personable and efficient. When there was a mistake due to a misunderstanding in my daughters prescription, the mistake was corrected immediately and in a professional and courteous manner. I have recommended many family members and friends to the Optical Center, and will continue to do so.

Google Review : Danny : May 25, 2010
Loyal patient of Dr. Ganz for many years I have been visiting the Optical Center since I was in my early 20's and every visit with Dr. Ganz has been fast, efficient and thorough. The staff at the center are very friendly, warm and caring and it is always a pleasure coming here for my yearly exams. I would recommend the Optical center to all family and friends. I now live in Valley Stream in Long Island but I will remain loyal to Dr. Ganz and his group and continue my yearly visits to his office in Brooklyn. It is well worth the trip. :)

Google Review : estreet120 - Jun 4, 2010
Happy Patient I have been a patient of Dr. Ganz for a couple of years. He was recommended to me by my boyfriend, and I have since passed that recommendation on to many people! Whenever I've had a question or concern, the office has been very helpful and considerate... Recently, when I called spur of the moment with an eye concern - on a FRIDAY, no less - they stayed open extra late just to see me! I have always been happy with the service that I've received from this office and would recommend it to anyone!

Google Review : Jun 15, 2010
Very Happy I came here totally by accident- I mixed up the optometrist I had previously gone to. But it's a mix-up I'm very happy I made. Dr. Ganz and the staff here are incredibly helpful, kind, and knowledgeable. Dr. Ganz really cared about getting me the contacts that worked best for me, and when a pair wasn't working out he was determined to find me the right pair. In addition, the staff is always helpful- from fitting an appointment for me in when they could to helping me find a local car service :). Like another review below me said, I would recommend The Optical Center to anyone I know.

Google Review : Jul 10, 2010
The Best in the US! I have known Dr. Ganz for over 35 years. He is a caring, empathetic expert in the field of eye care. He treats everyone in my family as if we are his family. I am especially impressed by the fact that everyone of his employees seems to enjoy working with him. If I ever have any concerns about my eyes, Dr. Ganz takes the time to calmly share his expertise. He willingly goes above and beyond his call to duty. Dr. Ganz and his office exempify leaders in the field of vision care. I strongly recommend Dr. Ganz and his office to anyone seeking the best eye care in the US.

Google Review : Jul 25, 2010
Excellent Service Sister Peggy and I were so very pleased to visit The Optical Center of Bay Ridge and receive our new specs. The service was outstanding and we will surely recommend the store to others. It was also a treat to have a visit with Zipper - what an adorable dog!

-Sister Ann

 


Notice of Privacy Practices
Eye Care Articles provided by All About Vision
View: Mobile | Desktop